Spicy Fried Cauliflower Rice

Simple but tasty, and adds a lot more flavor to the ordinary cauliflower rice, making it an even more interesting experience.
Today’s experiment turned out quite nice, so without further ado, let me introduce to you…Spicy Fried Cauliflower Rice!

20120611-194354.jpg

Ingredients:
• 1 Cauliflower head, grated into “rice” over the coarse side of a grater.
• 1 Onion, finely chopped.
• 2-3 cloves of Garlic, minced.
• 2 tbsp chopped Parsley.
1 tbsp Chili Flakes.
• Salt and crushed Black Pepper.
• 3 tbsp extra virgin Olive or Coconut Oil.

Instructions:
Heat the oil in a large frying pan.
Add onions, garlic and parsley and fry for a few minutes until the onions starts to get translucent.
Then add the riced cauliflower and let fry for another five minutes or so, stirring every once in a while so the cauliflower and onions get evenly mixed.
Towards the end, add the chili flakes (Edit: start with just a small amount, taste it and then add more if needed until you have a level of heat that you prefer! You don’t want this too hot, it should have a pleasant heat to it…) and then salt and pepper to taste.
Serve as a side dish, eat and enjoy!

20120611-194413.jpg
Today I served this with blackened salmon and sliced avocados, and I’m absolutely sure it will go great with flavorful dishes like e.g. Jerk Chicken.

Hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I did, and I would love to hear what you think of it if you try it out!

Paleo?: Oh yes.
LCHF?: Indeed.

Have a nice day everyone! :)

18 thoughts on “Spicy Fried Cauliflower Rice

  1. 1 TBSP of chili flakes? Really. Could you mean 1 teaspoon – because I can’t imagine how hot this would be with 1 TBSP of red chili flakes.

    • Hi Lisa!
      Yup, one tbsp is about what I used. Maybe the ones I’ve got are less hot, I don’t know…
      Anyway, by all means, start with just a small amount, taste it and add more if desired.
      The rice I made had a pleasant heat to it, not at all “can’t-taste-a-thing-mouth-numbing-where’s-the-water” hot, and that’s the way I intend it to be.

      Thanks for pointing this out, I really appreciate it!
      I will actually update the post to say something like “add chili flakes to taste” (especially since the definition of hot is also highly individual…).

      Have a nice day :)

  2. Just made this recipe for lunch. Added some pulled pork and swapped onion for scallions (bc it’s what I had). DELICIOUS. Thank you for sharing!!!

    • Wow, thanks for those kind words Tracy!
      You have no idea how happy I am to read this…it’s actually the first feedback I’ve got by someone who has tried a recipe out, and it couldn’t be better! :)
      A milestone!

      Your addition sounds awesome!
      (Since I wrote the post I’ve also been thinking about making a “full dish” version of it, but then I was mainly imagining a boat load of shrimps mixed up in there….
      Pulled pork definitely sounds like a winner too, although I’ve never got around to make pulled pork myself yet… It’s not a big thing here in Sweden, but I’ve seen posts about it everywhere and must say it looks like something that would be much appreciated on my plate) :)

      Take care now, and thanks for making my weekend…hope you have a good one too!

  3. Pingback: Roasted California Chilies and Garlic Chowder with Rosemary Sourdough Croutons « My Spanish Translator

  4. Pingback: Happy Anniversary | Paleo Yum-Yum!!

  5. WOW!!! Amazing recipe. I made this as a side dish to Talapia cooked with fresh tomato slices and cilantro. The cauliflower rice was good. The only thing I did different was used cocanut oil instead of olive oil and I added a splash of organic liquid beef stock for flavor. My kids ate it up and had seconds. Good recipe, thank you so much for sharing.

    Kindest Regards,
    Jeremy

    • Thank you Jeremy!
      Getting this kind of feedback from someone who has tried out and enjoyed my food is what I like the most about writing this blog. I appreciate it so much! :)
      Love your tweaking, and that entire dinner sounds just awesome…I would love a serving of that any day!

      Thanks for taking the time to let me know, you put a big smile on my face that will stick for a long time!

      Wish you a great weekend!

      • I am glad I made you smile, your recipe made us smile especially when I saw my kids eat it up like ice cream…LOL. I wanted to let you know of another website that I found that has some more great Paleo recipes on it. Being Italian and loving my meat and patatoes, i needed a website with an easy way to put my meals together for meal planning. This website has a lot great recipe’s that are actually really fun to make. Of course I always add my little twist or style to them and have pictures of some of them I could share if you would like. Here is a link to their recipes, http://www.paleoplan.com/recipes/

        • Hahaha, I know exactly what you mean…

          • My 3 year old: (does not even sit down, just looks at the plate) -Meh, I don’t like it, it’s disgusting.
          • Me: How do you know, you haven’t even tasted it yet?
          • She: Because I don’t like fish.
          • Me: Well…good thing it’s chicken then…
          • She: I don’t like chicken.
          • Eeeh…Yes you do, have you forgotten that?
          • She: Yup. (and walks away…)

          Every day…same scenario, different food.

          Thanks for the link, definitely lots of food that sounds delicious on there! (Kinda miss pictures showing it though…?)

          Appreciate it, have a great day! :)

  6. Pingback: Lemon And Almond Cauliflower Rice | Strictly Paleo…ish!

  7. i was thinking about making garlic and olive oil cauliflower rice when i came across your recipe on thefoodeeproject…….and i thought adding a little spice is always good for the appetite ;) i had a very large bright orange cauliflower and it cooked out to be a bright yellow–so it looks like spicy spanish rice ;) perfect to serve alongside the chicken enchilada stew i made for this week ;) thanks!

    • Hi Stevie!

      That sure sounds like a great combo! :)

      Happy you liked it, and hope you’ll be coming back for more inspiration…you’re always welcome here!

      Thanks for the kind words and for letting me know your thoughts, it’s much, much, appreciated :)

      Take care and have a great week
      //Peter

  8. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Strictly Paleo…ish! | Strictly Paleo…ish!

  9. Pingback: Guest Post, Peter: Building A Loving Family & Crawfish Etouffee | Paleo Parents

  10. I just discovered these amazing Paleo recipes, and I must say, I tried your version of the spicy cauliflower rice and I love it!!! I can’t wait to share it with my family and friends. Thx!

  11. Pingback: Crawfish Etouffee | Strictly Paleo…ish!

I appreciate your questions, thoughts and comments:

