Crispy Smoked Ham and Prosciutto Chips

Crispy_Ham_Prosciutto_Chips.jpg

Happy Friday everyone!
Can I interest you in a little something for a laid back weekend?
This simple snack takes a while to get ready, but requires minimal work effort. It can be done using a dehydrator or in the oven, is low in carbs and tastes delicious!

Ingredients:
(Serves 2-4)

• 1 pack of sliced Smoked Ham, ie the type you would put on a sandwich (if you ate bread that is…) and preferably nitrate free.
• 1 pack of Prosciutto, preferably nitrate free.
• Spices of choice.

(I made the following seasoning variations:
Ham:
– Garlic/Black Pepper/Basil
– Chipotle
– Natural

Prosciutto:
– Black Pepper
– Natural)

How To:

Cut the ham and prosciutto slices into strips.

Season one side of the strips the way you prefer (note: you can go quite easy on the spices, the flavor intensifies during dehydration…).

Spread the strips out evenly (avoid overlapping) on the dehydrator trays and dehydrate until dry and crispy.
(If you make them in the oven I suggest spreading the strips out on fine gridded cooling racks, place them in the oven, turn the oven on at the lowest possible temperature and leave the oven door slightly open (I usually just stick a spoon in between when closing it, leaving a small gap that lets the moist out), and then dehydrate until crispy.)

(If you can) let cool a bit before serving…

Enjoy, and have an awesome weekend!

10 thoughts on “Crispy Smoked Ham and Prosciutto Chips

    • Hi Dan!

      Not sure…haven’t tried these in the oven. (Though I have made jerky successfully in the oven, and they are both thicker and wetter, so I’m 100% sure these will work just fine in the oven too.)
      I’m sorry I don’t have a good and definite answer for you, my suggestion is to just follow the instructions and check them every 20 minutes or so, and just take ’em out when they are as crispy as you prefer.
      (Could be good to do anyway, because depending on how your oven works you might want to shift them around a bit every now and then to make sure they’re all dehydrated at the same pace.)
      I’m also guessing dehydrating in the oven is faster than the average dehydrator…

      If you’re uncomfortable doing this I can try it out in my oven, and give you a time estimate based on that, just let me know.

      Thanks for asking Dan, and please let me know how you liked them once you’ve tried them out! :)

  1. This is a great idea! I haven’t been up for making jerky yet and the non-nasty jerky is expensive. This just might fit the bill and my dehydrator has already been going all summer. Thanks!

    • Oh yeah, it’s a great protein snack substitute for jerky (crunchy though, not chewy…)! :)
      …and I would really like to know what you thought of them if you try them out! :)

      (And I’m also pretty sure there will be a jerky post too some time in the future, so be sure to follow the updates ;)

      Thanks for commenting Karyn, wish you an awesome weekend! :)

  2. Pingback: Some Random Tailgate Recipes | All About Kettlebells

  3. Pingback: 14-Day Paleo Diet Meal Plan | Paleo Grubs

  4. Pingback: 14-Day Paleo Diet Meal Plan - Paleo All

I appreciate your questions, thoughts and comments:

