Blog direction / strategy…

Hi there!

Wow…soon half a year has already passed since I started this blog as a just-for-fun side project while being on paternity leave with my youngest daughter…
My initial intention was just to document some of the stuff I cook, and thought a blog could be a good format to do this in so that others potentially could benefit from it too. At that time I honestly didn’t think I would have any readers (except for maybe my girlfriend out of kindness, haha!)), but I’m happy to say I was wrong! :)
More people than I could ever imagine have somehow found their way to my little blog and shown interest in my food, leaving the kindest heart warming comments and through encouragement and genuine support turned this project into something much more serious than I first planned it to be.
A very touching experience, and for that I am truly grateful.

This fact has made me make my first decision for the Strictly Paleo…ish! blog: I will continue writing it.

With that decided, I also feel I need to do a few changes to it…:

Change #1)
So…in a few weeks I will be back at work, and this most definitely means less time for me to plan, cook, experiment and blog about the results.
Therefor I will take on an advice I got when I first started the blog (the wise man who gave me the advice was Russ from The Domestic Man, an amazing guy who, through encouragement in an email correspondence about 6 months ago, to a large extent is “responsible” for me starting this blog at all… (when you’re done reading this, go check his awesome food out!)).
The advice was to have a posting strategy, which I at this point feel is unavoidable.
This means that future posts will be made once a week, and I’ve decided that Sunday is the day I will post.

Change #2)
After watching the blog statistics over the past months, it’s quite obvious the paleo oriented posts are more popular than the LCHF oriented posts.
I will try to take this into consideration when cooking for blog posts, so don’t be surprised if future posts put more emphasis on the paleo aspects than the LCHF ones. (This basically means that I will try to avoid dairy in the recipes as much as possible, and also try to give options for included dairy whenever applicable.)
There will for sure still be LCHF oriented posts coming, but most probably they’ll be less frequent.

Change #3)
Something that totally has blown my mind when watching the statistics is how many countries people have visited the blog from! (The last time I checked the list contained 89(!) countries.)
This has made me decide that I will from now on specify all ingredients etc. in both US and metric units.
Unfortunately I don’t know the used systems of all visiting countries, but specifying at least both US and metric units will make it easier for a lot of readers to use the recipes (and I have to draw the line somewhere…).
I will also gradually update all old posts so that they specify both types of measurements too.

Change #4)
The Unit Converter and Other Tools sections will be removed as they’re hardly used at all.

That’s all I had for now, and the above changes will also soon be reflected on the About page.

Finally I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart for showing interest in this blog and the food I post!
I really, really, appreciate the comments I get, no matter their nature, and strongly encourage you to keep commenting and interacting with me! :)

Talk to you again on Sunday then, now go have an awesome day! :)

Best Regards,20120904-224546.jpg

11 thoughts on “Blog direction / strategy…

    • Hey Russ!
      Wow, thanks…that comment right there completely made my day! :)
      (oh, and not just “have been of some” influence…I always find both your humble personality and world class cooking incredibly inspiring, so that my friend, is rather a steady stream of influence…) ;)

    • Hi there!

      Thanks for the encouragement! :)

      There are a few reasons for the decision.
      First, as I mentioned in the post the no/low-dairy recipes generally seems more popular (not knowing at all if that is related to the dairy, type of dishes or just coincidence though…but my gut feeling tells me it has something to do with the dairy content).
      Also, I think it might be a challenge for me to come up with no/low-dairy recipes as I’m living in a LCHF/Paleo compromised household (LCHF usually means a boat load of (high fat) dairy). Being used to cook with dairy, it often is “an easy way out” to make a recipe good…while trying to minimize it will be much more challenging.
      (plus…I’m kinda curious about if it will make me feel any different trying minimizing the intake…dairy is not an “burning issue” for me though, it’s more kinda the only change left until living strictly paleo…but then I assume I would have to change the name of the blog too, haha! ;) )

      Anyway, there will for sure still be a few dairy containing recipes posted…and who knows, maybe I feel I want to revert the decision at some point. ;)

      Thanks again for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it.
      Wish you an awesome day!

      Ps. “The Primal Smoke” is now added to my RSS reader…really excited to follow it! :)

      • Thanks so much, I am just getting started, but I think BBQ is a niche that isnt really fulfilled in the paleo world!

        Also, I do have to agree that omitting the dairy will appeal to a wider variety of people, perhaps I am jsut biased. I get some really great pastured dairy from the farmers market here so eat plenty of yogurt, cheese, and butter

        • I agree, I’ve seen a lot of BBQ recipes on paleo blogs, but yours is the first one I’ve come across that has a declared focus on it…love it! :)

          You know…living in Sweden, I’ve only got about 3 precious months a year of summer (if I’m lucky that is…this year has been terrible!), so I really try to fire up the grill as often as possible during that period. (It’s just not the same in cold rain or waist-high snow…;) )
          I think your blog will be of great value to me, and it’s really cool I get to follow it from the beginning! :)

          Take care! //P

  1. I’m new but totally understand the restrictions of life…I work, have a two year old and will soon have a newborn! What I’ve seen is great. Keep up the good work and once a week or every other week is fine!

  2. Pingback: Onion/Cream Gravy | Strictly Paleo…ish!

I appreciate your questions, thoughts and comments:

