Support Your Local (Meat) Dealer!

Yeah…I know. I said I’ll just post once a week now but, honestly, I’m in a really good mood today and just thought I should share with you why that is.
Note: There will be no recipe in this post, only inspiration…

Well…I’m in a good mood today because we went to buy some meat from a local, small scale, supplier we’ve found not too far from where we live.
We’ve been buying from this family for a little over a year now, and they’re truly awesome and has always treated us great!
This morning was a beautiful early fall day, and when we got there we noticed that the different animals they’ve got where almost at the same spot, which we’ve not seen before (they’ve all got a lot of area to freely roam, so previously we’ve only seen them from a far, far, distance (enough to know they’re doing good though..)).
A perfect moment to document and share with you what some of the food I eat looks like alive :)
(Oh, and just so you know…this entire blog is made from my phone…so that’s the reason photos are not always crisp…)

Let me present: my food

20120915-201021.jpg
• Grass fed? Check!
• Relaxed? Check!
• Healthy? Check!
• Got space? Check!

20120915-201426.jpg
…look at the snouts of these pigs! No doubt they’ve been doing exactly what they’re supposed to!

My oldest daughter had a blast running back and forth between the apple trees and the pigs, throwing them apples and laughing. Needless to say, she quickly became quite popular among the crowd ;)

20120915-202231.jpg
…now that’s an awesome view!

The whole place was breathing harmony this morning… Take a look at the picture above…pigs, lambs and cows in the same shot, and everyone was just doing their own thing!

20120915-202835.jpg
…no stress here.

20120915-204315.jpg
…the beehives with cows chillin’ in the background.

20120915-204504.jpg
…”I’m grass fed, BEEEOTCH!”

This bad boy was eye-ballin’ me like he knew the reason I was there. *scared*

Ok, that was just a few pictures of what some of my food looks like while being alive…
…now wanna see what I brought with me home? :)

20120915-204911.jpg

• 30 fresh eggs.
• 25 oz (700 g) unprocessed honey, spun just a few days ago.
• 0.35 oz (10 g) dried organic herbal spice blend, intended for lamb.
• 3 lb (1.4 kg) shank of ox.
• 4.6 lb (2.1 kg) slice of ham.
• 4.4 lb (2 kg) minced beef.
• 4.4 lb (2 kg) 50/50 minced beef/pork.
• 1.5 lb (700 g) lamb shoulder.
• 1.8 lb (800 g) schnitzel of pork.
• 3.5 lb (1.6 kg) pork Boston shoulder/collar.
• 3 home made hot dogs.

For all of this I payed about 1000:- (which is about $150), and if you ask me, I think that’s well spent money!
Maybe just a little bit more than store bought “factory meat”…but on the other hand these are completely different products, and the difference in quality far exceeds the price difference!

So what am I trying to say with this post?
Well…probably just that I’m very grateful for:
• having the privilege to buy high quality, recently butchered, meat that I know lived well all the way.
• to know the people raising my food takes pride in keeping their profession “real” and natural.
• knowing my meat is not grain and antibiotic fueled.

That being said, if you haven’t already, I urge you to scan your surroundings for opportunities like this…and to support your local (meat) dealer too!
You will not regret it!

Tomorrow I’ll post this weeks recipe, so talk to you again then…
Bye bye.

I appreciate your questions, thoughts and comments:

