Fried Shirataki Noodles With Bok Choy And Roasted Sesame

Fried_Shirataki_Noodles.jpg

Shirataki noodles has become quite popular in the Swedish LCHF movement lately, thanks to it’s low carb content (3g/100g).
It’s a traditional Japanese type of noodle made from konjac root (also known as konjac yam, devil’s tounge yam or elephant yam), and is basically water and gluccomannan (a water-soluble dietary fiber).

The word “Shirataki” means “white waterfall”, (at least that’s what the mighty mighty internet tells me, but I don’t know anyone who speaks Japanese so I can’t really confirm it…) which pretty well describes it’s look: translucent white.
On it’s own it is quite tasteless, does not really bring much nutrition and has a gelatinous texture. Nevertheless, as a filler, I think is still a pretty good gluten-free low-carb alternative for “ordinary” noodles…

It’s probably quite arguable whether Shirataki noodles are paleo or not…
I always try to turn to Mark Sisson for advice when in doubt, and I interpret his answer in this post as it is not paleo per definition, but it should be risk free to consume and may even have some positive effects on the gut flora.
(If that isn’t also the definition of “Strictly Paleo…ish”, then I don’t know what is??) ;)

(Note 1: the only “risk” mentioned is the possibility of increased gas production, but I did not experience that at all.)

(Note 2: I’ve never seen any other Shirataki noodles than those made from Konjac root, but I understand that there are also Shirataki noodles (apparently mainly available in the US) that are tofu based. Tofu is a soy (i.e. legume) product, so stay away from those…)

OK now, enough with the introduction…let’s move on to the recipe instead (which is quite similar to the “Chicken Wok with Romaine and Roasted Sesame” post in terms of flavor, but this one is better served as a side dish I think…).

Ingredients:
(Serves 4 as a side dish.)

• 14 oz (400 g) Shirataki noodles. (Usually two bags.)
• 1/2 cup (1 dl) Sesame Seeds.
• 2 Bok Choy heads, thinly shredded.
• 2 tbsp Coconut Oil.
• 1 tbsp Coconut Aminos or Tamari.
• A few pinches of Chinese Five Spice.

How To:
Place the Shirataki noodles in a colander and rinse thoroughly under running cold water, then let drain.

Roast the sesame seeds in a hot dry frying pan until light brown, then pour them over into a bowl and set aside.

Put the noodles in the still dry, hot, frying pan and let most water evaporate.
(I find this giving them a more pleasant texture…)

When most water is evaporated, sprinkle a few pinches of five spice over the noodles, add the coconut oil, and let fry for a minute or so while tossing to make sure the spices are evenly spread.

Add the tamari and roasted sesame seeds, then add the shredded bok choy.

Let fry while tossing so all components blend evenly until the bok choy has softened.

Done.

Next weeks post will show what I served it to, so make sure to check it out ;)

Have a nice week!

8 thoughts on “Fried Shirataki Noodles With Bok Choy And Roasted Sesame

  1. Pingback: What to do with shirataki noodles « The Not Big Anymore, Formerly Fat Guy

  2. Pingback: Lapsang Souchong Five Spiced Orange Chicken | Strictly Paleo…ish!

  3. Pingback: Blurb on Miracle Noodles « Allergy Bites

    • Hi Sue!

      Thanks for pointing this out.
      I spotted three errors which I have now corrected (“it’s” to “its”), please let me know if there are any left.

      (I’m from Sweden, so English is not my native tounge (it’s all there in the About section). Since I also use the blog as a way to practice my English, comments like this are much apreciated! Even better would of course be to also let me know what the errors are and how they should be corrected, as the risk of not being able to spot errors I’ve made due to lack of knowledge is rather great.)

      Again, thanks for letting me know and thank you for your kind words about my work.

      Best Regards
      Peter

      • Thank you Peter, for a great looking dish I am going to try out this week! I like the simplicity of it as I tend to get overwhelmed by new recipes. Excited to try it out. And, Sue- thank you for pointing out that Peter is not a robot and is human just like the rest of us! You are contributing greatly to this world, fine lady;)

I appreciate your questions, thoughts and comments:

