Ribbensteg

Ribbensteg.jpg
“Ribbensteg” (or “Flæsksteg”) is a traditional Danish pork roast…prepared, and eaten, with the skin on!
It may sound scary, but this is sooooo good! Think…crispy pork rinds on meat!
(Ooh…got your attention now, did I?) ;)

My Danish is far from good, but…I’m guessing Ribbensteg simply means “Rib Roast”, which indicate what cut is traditionally used.
However, any pork roast cut works fine…but it must have the fat cap and skin still on!

Also, I’m not sure if there is a traditional seasoning…
I’ve seen recipes with all kinds of spices or spice blends used. I decided to go for Ginger and it turned out absolutely wonderful (but that doesn’t mean you can’t try whatever you’d like)!
For example, ground cumin seems to be quite popular….

And now…here’s how to make this delicious dish yourself!:

Ingredients:
(Serves about 6)

• About 3.3 lb (1.5 kg) Pork Roast, with fat cap and skin on(!).
• 1 tsp ground Black Pepper.
• 4 tsp Salt.
• 3 tsp ground Ginger.
• 4 Carrots.
• 4 Parsnips.
• 2 Red Onions.

How To:
If your kitchen knife is not razor sharp, I suggest you start by sharpening it. It will take forever to cut the skin otherwise…

Pre-heat the oven to 285F (140C).

Cut the skin about 0.1-0.2 inch (4mm) apart.
(Cut through the skin, and through most of the fat cap…but try to avoid cutting into the meat.)

Mix the salt, pepper and ginger, and rub it in evenly all over the roast. Make sure to get it carefully rubbed into each cut.

Let it stand for some 10-15 minutes, then place it skin-side down in an oven safe tray.

Add about half an inch (1cm) of water to the tray, just so it covers the skin.

Place the tray in the oven for about 30-40 minutes.

Meanwhile, peel the carrots, parsnips and red onion, and cut them roughly into quite large pieces.

Take out the roast and lift it out of the tray.

Put the root vegetables and onions in the tray, then place the roast on top of them.

Insert a meat thermometer into the thickest part of the roast, turn up the oven to 320F (160C), and place it back in the oven.

Cook until the core temperature is 185F (85C), then turn on the broiler and crank up the heat to about 390F (200C).

Grill under the broiler for a few minutes until the skin looks crispy and has got a nice color.

Take it out and let rest for a while before cutting it up in thin slices.

Serve with the root vegetables, some leafy greens and applesauce.
Enjoy!

20130320-214509.jpg
…isn’t that just beautiful?!

15 thoughts on “Ribbensteg

  1. Mmmm. Now this is right up my alley! I’m the type that eats all that rind on slab bacon as well as all the chewy, outer skin off a baked smoked shank or butt ham (after scraping off most of the soft fat underneath and rendering that out for drippings, of course). So I could REALLY get off to this particular pork preparation. “Crispies”, as I call them, are ALWAYS goodness. I look forward to try it!

    • And I look forward to hear what you thought about it! :)

      (Actually, I dare to PROMISE you won’t be disappointed…it’s ridiculously good!)
      And after reading what you just wrote, I’m also sure this is right up your alley ;)

      Take care!
      // Peter

  2. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Strictly Paleo…ish! | Strictly Paleo…ish!

  3. Pingback: The Best Thing Strictly Paleo…ish Ever Ate! « Popular Paleo

    • If the cap is fat + skin, then you’ll soon be eating a Ribbensteg made from the best kind of meat possible my friend! ;)
      (I.e. yes, as long as the fat cap also has the skin left on it’ll be just perfect.)

  4. I’m native Danish and I will try your recipe on a ribbensteg tomorrow night. Let’s see if it matches up to the one my mom used to make. ;)

    /Tommy

    • Hi Tommy!

      Wow…now I’m both nervous and excited, hahaha! :D
      Nothing compares to a dish seasoned with Mother’s Love, so just passing your seal of approval would be absolutely awesome!

      I really hope you’ll enjoy your dinner tonight, and I would be very happy to hear how it turned out and your verdict on the recipe! :)

      Have a great Sunday!
      //Peter

      • It’s done .. and gone! We ate it all. :)
        I love that you used ginger, and that’s actually why I wanted to try your version. The classic Danish cuisine dictates cloves and bay leaves (and served with boiled red cabbage), but you convinced me that the ginger freshness is better with pork.
        I chopped up a fragrant mix of fennel, apples and red onions (you should really try that combo!!) for the oven tray – and served it just like that; ready to scoop out and eat. A new favourite was born.

        Just a tiny bit of info: flæskesteg and ribbensteg are slightly different cuts, but are very similar in taste and texture.

        /Tommy

        • That’s fantastic! :D
          Feels great to have it officially approved by a native Dane!!

          Also, thanks for letting me know the traditional seasoning and the cuts (I’m guessing the Swedish equivalents are “kotlettrad” and “Skinkstek”…at least that’s the two cuts I’ve seen coming with the rind on except for “Sidfläsk”…but that’s more like bacon.)

          I love apple with pork, and can imagine fennel being a great to add too…will definitely give it a try the next time I cook it!

          Thanks for sharing, it means a lot to me :)

          //Peter

  5. I made this last year (not your recipe) and it was kind of horrible – came out super dry and flavorless. Would this be a good candidate for brining?

I appreciate your questions, thoughts and comments:

