Thai Style Shrimp Soup

20130419-174455.jpg
I love Thai style soups.
They suit every season of the year, always make you feel good, are always delicious, and while the basics remain the same you can endlessly vary the rest of the ingredients as you wish or based on what have at home.

Ok, so last Sunday I made two whole roasted chickens…
I ate one of them on Sunday evening, the other one on Monday evening, and then I threw all the “waste” in the slow cooker along with some root vegetables and water so that I, twenty hours later, would have a delicious chicken broth to do something fun with when I got home from work on Tuesday.

Initially I was planning on making a chicken soup but…the more of the Tuesday that passed, the less inspired I was by the idea of eating chicken a third day in a row.
So…after a quick re-plan, a quick inventory from memory of what I had at home, and a quick stop at the store for some additional ingredients this is what was eaten that evening instead:

Ingredients:
(Serves 6 as main dish/lunch, 10-12 as starter.)

• 4 cup (1L) unsalted Chicken Broth.
• 3 1/2 cup (8dl) Coconut Milk.
• 14 oz (400g) Champignon mushrooms, sliced.
• 14 oz (400g) pre-cooked Shrimp tails, peeled.
• 3 Lemongrass stalks.
• 3 tbsp minced Ginger.
• Finely grated zest from 3 Limes.
• Juice from 1 Lime.
• 3 tbsp Fish Sauce.
• 4 Garlic cloves, minced.
• 5 Green Onions, chopped.
• 1 bunch fresh Thai Basil, roughly chopped.
• 1 Red Chili, de-seeded and finely sliced.
• 1 tbsp Coconut Oil.

How To:
In a large pot, heat up the coconut oil.

Crush the lemongrass stalks and let fry in the coconut oil for 5 minutes.

Throw in the lime zest then pour in the chicken stock.

Add 1 tbsp fish sauce, the minced ginger, the minced garlic, and bring to a gentle boil.

Let simmer for 10 minutes, then add the coconut milk and remove the lemongrass stalks.

Add the sliced mushrooms and green onions.

Stir in the other 2 tbsp fish sauce and the lime juice.

Add the shrimps, remove the pot from the heat and let stand for a some 5 minutes before serving.

Serve in bowls, sprinkled with sliced chili to taste and a generous amount of chopped Thai basil.

That’s how easy you make a delicious Thai style soup!

Note 1: If you want to make it even more authentic, replace the ginger with Galangal, and the lime zest with 6-10 Kaffir Lime leaves.

Note 2: If your chicken broth is already salted, add the last two tablespoons of fish sauce to taste.

Speaking of fish sauce…I hear a lot of good things about Red Boat fish sauce.
Unfortunately I have not found it available anywhere that ships to Sweden, so I had to go with the least not-so-good one I could find…but it did have unwanted additives (read: sugar) :(
So, if anyone know any place that sell Red Boat fish sauce and deliver internationally (read: Sweden) for a reasonable shipping cost, PLEASE let me know!

Have a great week y’all!

9 thoughts on “Thai Style Shrimp Soup

  1. Pingback: Thai Style Shrimp Soup | Paleo Digest

  2. I am terrible at cooking but am trying to follow paleo recipes. So I have a silly question–is the shrimp already cooked when added, or does the 5 minutes in the hot broth cook it? Thanks.

    • Hi Becky!
      Not a silly question at all!
      (it’s absolutely a valid question and I now realize that the recipe is not clear at all on that point, so thank you for pointing that out!) :)

      I used already cooked shrimps.
      That is why I add them right at the end and remove the pot from the heat.
      (They just need to be re-heated, and overcooked shrimps does not have a pleasant texture.)

      If I used uncooked shrimps I would leave the pot on the stove and let them simmer for about 5 minutes (depending on size), and then just sample one for readiness.

      Any other questions, don’t hesitate to ask! :)
      (And keep on cooking, it does not take long until it comes natural. Just pay attention to what you do and what the effects are when adjusting details, and dare to experiment and try out new things!)

      Once again, thanks for pointing this out. I’ll update the recipe right away.

      Good luck and hope you’ll enjoy it! :)

      //Peter

  3. Over the last few weeks I have been leading a LCHF lifestyle as an experiment – and I have to say that I am really enjoying the results. Doing a quick search for Kålpudding today lead me to your sight and I am really enjoying it! You have totally inspired me to try this thai-inspired soup for a meal next week so thank you :)

    • Hi!

      Thank you for letting me know, that makes me very happy to hear! :)

      I hope I’ll manage to keep inspiring you, and would love to hear your thoughts on the recipes you do try out if you have the time and possibility to.

      Wish you a great week
      //Peter

  4. Pingback: Peter’s Strictly Paleo..ish Thai Shrimp Soup (Paleo, Primal, Gluten-free) | Boake Blog – Illustrated Gluten-Free, Grain-Free, Paleo-Friendly Recipes

I appreciate your questions, thoughts and comments:

