Lightly Salt Coated Roasted Almonds

Salty_Roasted_Almonds.jpg
Apparently, I’m currently on some kind of snack track…
Today’s recipe is an awesome snack…great for the trail mix, the long car drive, the party, or maybe just as a little something when watching a movie?
But I must warn you though…it is not hard to overeat on those little goodies.

The method described here is a common way to prepare roasted almonds, so there’s nothing new or revolutionary about the recipe really.
Nevertheless, they’re great and I want to share this with you in case you haven’t tried them before.

I experimented with both Smoked Sea Salt and Chipotle Sea Salt for this post, but to be honest I don’t think it made that much of a difference compared to regular Sea Salt.
If I come up with a way to make the Smoke or Chipotle flavors more distinct I’ll let you know (I do have some ideas I want to try out…)

Anyway, here’s how to make ’em:

Ingredients:
(Serves: Many)

• 1.5 cup (3.5dl) Almonds.
• 1 cup (2.5 dl) Water.
• 5 tsp Sea Salt.

How To:
Pre-heat the oven to 390F (200C).

In a pot, add the salt to the water and bring to a boil while stirring a bit to make sure all salt is completely dissolved.

Once the water starts to boil, remove it from the heat and add the almonds.

Let the almonds soak in the the salted water for about a minute, then drain them and spread them out on a baking tray.

Put the tray in the oven, and roast the almonds for 8-10 minutes.

I prefer to let them cool off before I eat them, but they’re absolutely delicious also while still warm!

Enjoy, and have a great week! :)

5 thoughts on “Lightly Salt Coated Roasted Almonds

  1. Pingback: Lightly Salt Coated Roasted Almonds | Paleo Digest

  2. Pingback: Pražené lehce solené mandle | Metlův Paleo/Primal food blog

    • Hi Mike,

      Thank you for taking the time to share your knowledge!
      (I really appreciate those kind of comments where I learn something valuable and can use it to increase the quality of the content of this blog!)

      When you say the beneficial days can be altered, do you mean oxidation or any other negative alterations?

      I looked around a bit to see what I could find on it, and seems like it even could be a good idea to not go above 266F (130C)…
      Apparently “formation of acrylamide started only when the kernel temperature had exceeded approximately 130 degrees C.”
      (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/17995869/)

      I will try it out at 130C as soon as I have finished my Whole30 (2 weeks to go), so that I can update the timing accordingly too.

      Again, thanks for bringing this up Mike!

      //Peter

    • Interestingly, I also stumbled upon this:

      “I was originally going to tell you to keep the nuts at a very low temperature to dehydrate them in order to keep their oil from oxidizing, but a quick touch-base with Matt Lalonde revealed to me that an in-tact, whole almond won’t present this problem as oxygen can’t penetrate the nut.
      That said, roasted nut butters and almond meal or flour that is heated (for all you almond-flour crazed bakers out there!) will cause the nut’s oils to become oxidized. We don’t want to consume oxidized oils if we can avoid it as they contribute to systemic inflammation and lipid peroxidation – both of which are damaging to our bodies and our overall health.”
      (http://balancedbites.com/2010/12/for-the-love-of-almonds-and-some-omega-36-fats-talk.html)

      …have not seen that statement anywhere else though, and either way…avoiding acrylamide when possible is probably a good enough reason by itself.

      //P

I appreciate your questions, thoughts and comments:

