Recipe Swap: Alex Boake's "Rhubarb Custard With Maple Pecan Crumble"!

Alex_Boakes_Rhubarb_Custard.jpg

So…I’m making my first ever recipe swap, and I’m SUPER excited about it!!!
Not only because it’s my first swap, nor because this is a great recipe, but mostly because of who I’m making it with.
To be honest I feel honored to be a part of this swap, let me tell and show you why:

As not uncommon when it comes to things that has made a great impression, I can tell the exact date when the amazing, multi-talented, Toronto based Alex Boake first caught my attention…
It was Febuary 1, 2012, when this post from The Domestic Man popped up in my RSS reader, showing her amazing illustration of his mouthwatering “Kalbi” (Korean short ribs) recipe.
I was instantly blown away by Alex’s unique style and talent, and needless to say…Alex’s own blog “Alex Boake Illustration + Comics” has also been in my RSS reader since that day.

Not only is Alex a super skilled modern artist, she is also a fellow Paleo-friendly food blogger (a damn good one!) and a super nice person!
Every time a new post by Alex shows up I get happy, because I know in advance it will bring me inspiration on so many levels!

Ever since I saw that first illustration back in early 2012, it has been kind of a secret dream for me to one day make a collaboration of some sort together with Alex…but I never dared to ask for it.
Until now that is, and I’m so happy I did!

Before I move on to introducing the recipe of hers I chose to make for the swap, I would like to take the opportunity to say two things:

1) To You:
After you’re done reading this post, I strongly encourage you to hop over to Alex’s site to get familiar with her work and show her some love!
Not only because I think she deserves all the recognition she can get, but also because if you don’t I really think you miss out on something good…
(…aaaand, you gotta check out which of my recipes she chose to bless with her creative magic for this swap, right??
…hint: it’s awesome!) :)

2) To Alex:
Thank you so much for making this swap happen!
To me, it is a privilege and an honor, and I value the experience highly!

Ok, now that you know the background, let me present the recipe…
I chose to make Alex’s “Rhubarb Custard with Maple Pecan Crumble” (original recipe here).
I’ll tell you straight away, I think this recipe is awesome! The summer has just arrived here in Sweden, and the fresh, slightly tart, rhubarb flavor (which is the very soul of this dish) made a really refreshing afternoon treat!
It also goes great served as a dessert, but to me there is something special about eating something rhubarb flavored in the afternoon sun on a hot day…
The only thing I changed to the original recipe, was that I replaced the nutmeg with cinnamon, as my girlfriend isn’t a huge fan of nutmeg (and no matter how good the food is, I prefer to share the experience and to not eat alone) ;)
Anyway, here’s Alex’s own beautiful illustration of her recipe, followed by the recipe itself (slightly altered, as described above):
Alex_Boake_Rhubarb_Custard_Illustration.jpg
Image source: Alex Boake Illustration + Comics

[gmc_recipe 3506]

 

Either serve as is or, if you tolerate it, with a little bit of whipped cream on top as suggested in the original recipe.

 

Alex_Boakes_Rhubarb_Custard_2.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this post, and that you’ll like the Rhubarb Custard just as much as I did!
Thanks for taking the time to read this, I had a great time cooking, eating and writing it! ;)

Cheers!

One thought on “Recipe Swap: Alex Boake's "Rhubarb Custard With Maple Pecan Crumble"!

  1. Pingback: Peter’s Strictly Paleo…ish Thai Shrimp Soup (Paleo, Primal, Gluten-free) | Boake Blog – Illustrated Gluten-Free, Grain-Free, Paleo-Friendly Recipes

I appreciate your questions, thoughts and comments:

