Lemon-Rosemary Glazed Wild Boar Inside Round

Lemon-Rosemary_Glazed_Wild_Boar.jpg

This glaze turned out really well I think, and don’t worry if you don’t have a wild boar inside round laying around…I’m sure it goes great with both chicken and pork too!

There’s no real story behind the recipe…it’s one of those recipes that are “invented” while it’s being done, and purely based on what was available at home at that moment.
So, since there is not much more to say about it, I’ll hop right on to the details…

Lemon-Rosemary_Glaze_Ingredients.jpg

Ingredients:
(Serves 4)

• 1 Wild Boar Inside Round (or chicken breasts, ham, pork sir loin etc.)
• 2 tbsp Bacon Fat.
• 2 tbsp Honey.
• 4-5 sprigs of fresh Rosemary.
• 1 Lemon.
• 1/2 tbsp crushed Black Pepper.
• A pinch of Sea Salt.

How To:
Prep your grill for indirect grilling (coal on the sides).

Peel the zest off the lemon using a potato peeler, then cut the lemon in half.

Remove the rosemary stems and discard.

Chop the rosemary and lemon zest quite finely.

Melt the bacon fat in a pot, add the honey, chopped lemon zest and rosemary, black pepper, a pinch of sea salt and the juice from one of the lemon halves.

Let gently boil while stirring until it becomes sticky.

Quickly sear the meat over the coal, then brush it with the glaze all over and insert a meat thermometer into the center of it.

Place the meat in the middle of your grill (ie not directly over the coal), and grill with the lid on until you’ve reached the desired core temperature.
(For wild boar I go to somewhere between 150-158F (65-70C).

Let it rest for a while before you slice it up and serve.

Enjoy!

13 thoughts on “Lemon-Rosemary Glazed Wild Boar Inside Round

  1. Pingback: Lemon-Rosemary Glazed Wild Boar Inside Round | Paleo Digest

    • Thank you so much, that’s a first! :D
      I wish I had a secret to share, but the fact is I do everything on the blog from my phone.
      So the photos are just the regular iPhone camera and some adjustments in SnapSeed and/or PS Touch…
      Really happy to hear you like them though!!

      I’m absolutely sure the glaze goes great with pork!
      Drop a comment on how it turned out if you try it :)

      Wish you a great day!
      // Peter

  2. Hello from Florida, I found this recipe googling lemon rosemary roasted wild boar. Just pulled a fresh, bone in wild boar ham from the freezer that my husband killed last year. We’ve got a lemon tree and rosemary bushes so this recipe looks perfect. My question is, I don’t trust myself to charcoal grill this. I’m planning to roast it in the oven. Would you suggest a high temp, like 450? I cook a lot, just don’t charcoal grill much… that needs to change. But not tomorrow. Any other suggestions about how to make sure this comes out right?

    Thank you,
    Jessi, dutiful wife of a huntsman

    • Hi Jessi,

      That sounds wonderful! (Made me a bit jealous…) ;)

      As long as you keep an eye on the core temperature I guess 400-450F in the oven would work.

      (If I were to make it indoors though, I would first slow cook it until it has reached the desired core temp, then I would glaze it and quickly run it in the oven at about 450F (maybe even with the broiler on). Just keep an eye out so you don’t burn the glaze.
      If you have access to a slow cooker, here’s some guidelines (omit the allspice, and use the glaze in this recipe instead of the Dijon coating + serve warm):
      http://strictlypaleoish.com/2013/12/22/slow-cooked-christmas-ham/

      Good luck! And please let me know what you decided on, how it turned out! :)

      Take care // Peter

    • hmmm, now after reading the recipe again, I’m thinking this may be a “low and slow” method, rather than a roasting method… Ok, well, here goes nothin! I’m sure it will turn out well. But please get back with me asap if you’re able.

      • Hi Jess!

        I’m not really sure what the current question is?

        When I bbq’ed it, it surely was 400-450F under the lid, so the equivalent in the oven should be fine. Just keep an eye on the core temp (and if you think it starts to take on too much color, just place some foil on top of it to prevent from burning.)

        The alternative method I described yesterday (using a slow cooker first), is more of a low-and-slow way, but also probably “safer” if you’re worried about the result of the first method.

        Let me know if this answers your question, and if not I’ll do my best to try to answer it again.
        (And I apologize if I’ve got it wrong(?))

        Best regards, Peter

      • I’ve decided to go with low and slow. I seared it in a dutch oven after seasoning with salt and pepper, then into a 325 oven. Walked OUTSIDE to cut a few lemons and rosemary (smiling, that part was just to make you more jealous:) while the bacon was rendering and chopped it up. I’m cooking with no lid on the pot (seems more like your dry grilling method) in the oven and basting with the lemon rosemary mixture. I’m planning to share it tonight at a party, thinly sliced with crusty sourdough bread, salted butter, grainy mustard, and arugula. I think this is a BIG WIN! And what’s so awesome is how local all my ingredients are! Boar, Honey, Lemon, Rosemary… and I found the recipe from you, in SWEDEN! I love the time we live in. Cheers! And thank you!

I appreciate your questions, thoughts and comments:

