Vanilla-Thyme Buttered Apple Chicken

Vanilla-Thyme_Buttered_Apple_Chicken.jpg
Vanilla is probably not the first thing you think of when thinking about chicken…but together with apples, thyme, and pink pepper it actually worked really well!

Today’s recipe was another experiment, playing around with flavors…
I think it turned out quite nice, resulting in a chicken dish that was buttery delicious, yet really fresh, and full of gentle yet interesting flavors.

If you want to try it out too, here’s what to do:

Ingredients:
(Serves 4)

• 4 Boneless Chicken Breasts.
• 2 Apples (I used Gala apples.)
• 1/2 cup (1 1/4 dl) clarified Butter.
• 1 Vanilla Bean.
• 1/2 tsp crushed Pink Peppercorns.
• About 20 sprigs of fresh Thyme.

How To:
Pre-heat the oven to 390F (200C).

Wash the chicken breasts, pat them dry with paper towels and line them up in an oven safe tray.

Peel, remove the core, and dice the apples.

Split the vanilla pod lengthwise and scrape out the seeds.

Pick the leaves off ten of the thyme sprigs.

Melt the clarified butter in a sauce pan, then add the crushed pink peppercorns, vanilla beans, vanilla pod and the thyme leaves.

Let fry for a few minutes then remove the pan from the heat.

Add the diced apples and stir.

Remove the vanilla pod, then pour the apples and butter over the chicken breasts and place the rest of the thyme sprigs on the sides.

Cook in the oven for about 25 minutes (the chicken is done when the juices are clear).

Let rest for some 10 minutes before serving.

Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Vanilla-Thyme Buttered Apple Chicken

  1. Pingback: Vanilla-Thyme Buttered Apple Chicken | Paleo Digest

  2. Peter, I just knocked out my first week of Whole30 and while I also feel like I was dodging food temptations like Neo in the Matrix and “just wanted to take a nap” yesterday, I remind myself that I get to eat food like this and reap the benefits of knowing it’s good healthy AND super tasty!!! I am making this today if I can find vanilla beans at my store–(I’m probably going to have to ask someone for help because I have no idea where they would be.) It sounds so delicious, I cannot wait to try it! :)

    • Hi Sara,
      Congratulations, that’s 25% done already!! :)
      The days you are going through right now will probably be the hardest, so if you’re having it rough right now just hold on a little bit more and it will soon be alot easier.

      How did it go finding the vanilla pod? Here in Sweden they’re usually found either among the spices, or in the baking section.
      Hope you got a chance to try it out, and that you liked it if so(?) :)

      Wish you a great week, by this time next week you’ll be more than halfways! :)¨

      //Peter

  3. Thank you!! This HAS been the hardest–no withdrawal symptoms because, like you, I normally eat pretty clean, but the cravings are pretty fierce right now. I really could scarf down some cookies right about now. ;) Good news! I found the vanilla pod!! I had to ask for help, but I have it. Last night we had a birthday party for my cousin’s son and I was SO good. I brought my own food and did not eat the cake. Luckily I’m already seeing some benefits so that is what is encouraging me to keep going.
    I am making this chicken tonight so I will let you know how it turned out later tonight!!
    Thanks for all the encouragement!!
    –Sara

    • I am not a very skilled cook, but I successfully made this and it was really easy, quick, and really delicious! I can best describe the flavors exactly as you did–light and sweet–a very good balance and you can taste every flavor with each bite. The hardest part was cutting the vanilla pod open–and that wasn’t even hard! ;) This was the perfect meal for tonight. I paired it with baby carrots and snap peas and an avocado. I will definitely make this again and it will stay on my dinner menu permanently.

      • Hi Sara,

        Great to hear you’re rockin’ your whole30!
        The best tip for the cravings is simply to not let them get a grip, just “let them go”. If impossible, remind yourself that cookies will not vanish from the face earth any time soon, IF you still want them in three weeks from now, they’ll be there waiting for you…but right now you’re doing a whole30 and that’s that.
        (And…chances are great that you will NOT eat any cookies the first thing you do after you’ve completed your four weeks. It just doesn’t feel right. (The only non-compliant stuff I’ve had since my 30 days were done is some wine and some bacon…choosing compliant food comes natural now it seems, and the wine and bacon has been highly conscious choices.)

        Happy to hear you tracked down a vanilla pod and enjoyed the dish! :)
        (I find it easiest to split the pods by placing it flat on the countertop and stick the tip of a sharp knife through it close to one end, then pull the pod so it get split rather than trying to cut along side the pod (if that makes sense?)
        Then it’s much easier to scrape the seeds out with the blunt backside of the blade rather then the sharp side.

        Thanks for letting me know your thoughts on the recipe, I really appreciate it! :)

        //Peter

  4. “cookies will not vanish from the face earth any time soon”
    That is EXACTLY what I’ve been telling myself! And other people who look at me like I’m insane. It’s only 30 days, then I can eat whatever I want. Even though, like you, I know I’m not going to go all crazy and eat two gallons of ice cream a week or anything. I know I’m just not. This has been such an incredible learning experience and I’m so grateful.

    Thanks for the advice about the vanilla bean! I am going to try that next time I make this again.

    I also referenced you and your chicken in my blog (which will not go public until my 30 days is up, but I just wanted you to know before I published it, if that’s okay?)

    Thanks!
    –Sara

I appreciate your questions, thoughts and comments:

