Whole30 Summary: Week 2

Whole30_week_2_done.jpg

Day 14 today, almost halfway through already! :)

This week’s summary will probably be rather short, as it hasn’t been that much different from last week really.
I sleep like a baby, and do have a bit more energy…but no “tiger blood” yet.
Also, still haven’t had any weird food dreams (…and I’m still a bit bummed about that).
The main difference I’ve noticed is that I now get a lot more hungry when it’s closing up on meal time…
I guess that’s a good thing though, as it’s likely due to hormone levels and signal reception improving.

Also…apparently, since a few days, my breath could make a skunk run for cover!…
I’ve checked the Whole30 forum, and it seems not uncommon to get a bad breath around day 10.
My guess: ketosis.
(I’ve not actively tried to go into ketosis, but if that is the case, I don’t really mind it either…
I know I’ve been eating lots of good and nutritious food, and the ketosis just mean I use fat for energy.
I also know that, at my current activity level, I don’t need to add more carbs, + there’s a natural seasonal shift towards more starchy veggies right around the corner so I don’t feel there’s a need for any adjustments at this point.)

Food-wise I’ve done pretty much the same as last week.
I.e. some kind of protein that I felt like eating, together with a boat load of veggies and healthy fats.
But…I’ve also pulled out the slow-cooker on two occasions!
That’s an excellent addition to the no-plan kind of approach I told you about last week, and I’ve now got boxes of great meals in the freezer as a safety net for those days when I really don’t feel like, or have the time to, cook…

Speaking of food, want to see some more samples of what I’m eating during my Whole30?
Here are some of last weeks dishes as inspiration:

moroccan_Lamb_Stew.jpg
Slow-cooked Moroccan lamb stew, served with cauliflower Tabbouleh.
(Recipe will be posted later!)

Crispy_Skin_Salmon.jpg
Crispy skin salmon with an EVOO drizzled tomato/basil salad and chopped hard boiled eggs in melted Ghee.
Simple. Tasty.

Sesame_Pork_Chops.jpg
Sesame pork chops, with a simple almond and bell pepper salad.
(Recipe will be posted later!)

Slow-cooked_Brisket.jpg
Slow-cooked beef brisket with carrots, onions, tomatoes and herbs served with a sauerkraut/lettuce salad with olives.
Simple. Tasty.

Meal_1_Example.jpg
Meal 1 example:
Leftover pork chop, bell pepper scramble, olives, grapes, cucumber, tea and kombucha.
Simple. Tasty.

New report in a week!

(Oh…about the exercise. Still need to step it up a bit!)

4 thoughts on “Whole30 Summary: Week 2

  1. All those meals look so good!! I have been thinking of doing another whole30 next month, but haven’t decided yet :-/ My birthday is in September so I don’t know if that would work out or not…

I appreciate your questions, thoughts and comments:

