Moroccan Lamb Stew

Moroccan_Lamb_Stew.jpg

Today’s recipe is my interpretation of North African flavors, and what I imagine a Moroccan lamb stew would/could taste like…

Some of you might have seen the recipe already(?), as I wrote it for the PaleoHacks blog a while back and it was published there earlier this week.
(If not you can check it out here, it’s the same recipe but a totally different post.)

Anyhow, this recipe is another slow-cooked stew that is just perfect for the season…easy to make, got a warming and comforting spiciness to it, and flavors that’ll take you on a trip to Northern Africa.
Serve it over my Cauliflower Tabbouleh for a complete meal and experience.

Enjoy!

Ingredients:
(Serves 4-6)

• 2 lb (900g) Lamb (cut/s of choice), diced.
• 4 tbsp Ras El Hanout spice blend.
• 2 Sweet Potatoes, peeled and diced.
• 1 Red Bell Pepper, diced.
• 1 cup (2.5 dl) Apricots, diced.
• One 14 oz (400g) can crushed Tomatoes.
• 3 tbsp Clarified Butter or Ghee.

How To:

Put the Ras El Hanout spice blend in a hot, dry, frying pan and roast it for a little while.

Add the lamb and stir/toss so that all pieces are coated evenly in the spices.

Add the clarified butter/ghee and quickly sear the meat.

Put the meat and the rest of the ingredients in a slow-cooker, set it on low for 7-8 hours, then you’re done!

10 thoughts on “Moroccan Lamb Stew

  1. Pingback: Moroccan Lamb Stew | Paleo Digest

  2. What size can / measurement of crushed tomatoes did you use. I have a feeling UK cans of tomatoes are different in size to the ones in USA. Thanks

  3. Well I made this the other night as I said and it was deeeelish!!! I think I will use x2 tins of tomatoes when I make it again (very soon!) as the stew was a little on the thick side. Personal taste and all that. Thanks for the recipe it – I have shared it at work too!

    • Hi Jacky!

      What a fantastic read, thanks for sharing! :D
      This is exactly the intention I have with this blog, to share inspiration rather than exact recipes, and I love to read how you’ve identified a way to tweak it to match your preferences!
      To me a recipe that can be tweaked is a good and usable recipe, so this is the absolute best comment I could get :)

      Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with me and everyone else who read here, it’s much appreciated! :)

      //Peter

  4. Pingback: Two New Recipes Blog #4 | emilykarn

  5. Pingback: The 215 Most Popular Free Paleo Recipes - Essential Recipes For Every Paleo Eater

I appreciate your questions, thoughts and comments:

