Grain-Free Burger Buns

Grain-free_Burger_Buns.jpg

If you miss the bread on your burgers, this recipe might be for you…

I’ve been sitting on this recipe since I tried it this summer, hesitating to post it just for one single reason…I just can’t make up my mind about where I stand on psyllium husk.
But then I also don’t want to make that decision for you, so I thought I’d post it for those of you that are fine with husk.

The recipe itself is yet another one from the wonderful Swedish Paleo blog Under Vårt Tak, and here’s how to make it:

Ingredients:
(Makes about 4 buns)

• 1.25 cup (3 dl) Almond meal.
• 5 tbsp Psyllium husk.
• 2 tsp Baking powder.
• 1 tsp Sea salt.
• 3 Egg whites.
• 1 cup (2.5 dl) boiling Water

How To:
Turn on the oven and set it to 350F (175C).

Mix all dry ingredients in a bowl.

Blend in the the egg whites using a hand mixer.

Add the boiling water and keep blending until you’ve got a dough.

Shape the dough into buns (you can make them rather flat as they do rise quite a lot).

Place the buns on a parchment papered baking dish, and put them in the oven for about 50 minutes.

Let them cool completely before cutting them.

Burger_In_Grain-Free_Bun.jpg

…and it work just as good for making hot dog buns:

Grain-Free_Hot_Dog_Buns.jpg

If I made you craving burgers but you’re not up for psyllium husk, check out my bunless burgers inspirational ;)

You can find the post where I came across this recipe here (in Swedish).

12 thoughts on “Grain-Free Burger Buns

    • Hi Gigi,

      I’ve seen both Flax and Chia mentioned as alternatives to Psyllium husk when it comes to gluten-free baking, but unfortunately I’m not experienced enough to be able to say to what ratios, or which of the three suits what type of baked goods the best.
      (Even if the purpose is the same (a binder in the absence of gluten, that absorb a lot of water to prevent what you’re baking from becoming dry), I’m fairly confident the characteristics of the three isn’t exactly the same (some probably gel more than the others, different absorption capabilities etc.).

      So, I’m guessing you can substitute with flax, but probably not 1:1.

  1. I made these last night and they were delicious. I am wondering what your reservations/concerns are regarding the psyllium husk are. I would rather put the stuff in my bread and have it taste really yummy than add it to water and try and choke it down. Probably why the container has been sitting in my cupboard for a while.

    • Hi Leslie!

      I’ve seen people reporting digestive issues after eating it (but I’m guessing it then have been in the context of supplementation). I have never experienced any issues myself after an occasional bun such as the ones in the recipe, but even though it might not do me any harm I’m also sure it doesn’t provide my body with anything good either (since it’s insoluble fiber that just pass through.)
      So, basically, I’m not worried about eating it occasionally, but if/when I do it’s strictly as a gluten eliminator and not for nutrition or “getting fiber”.

      Hope that answer your question?

      I’m happy to hear you liked the recipe, and if it works for you and help you avoid gluten then go for it! :)

      Oh, and when it comes to defining it Paleo or not, I’m fairly sure it falls under the “not” category (but then again, this blog is “Paleo…ish” after all… ;)

      Thank you for your comment Leslie, take care and have a great week! :)

      // Peter

  2. I made these and had a hamburger with mustard, homemade ketchup, lettuce, tomato and onion and it was AMAZING!! I would definitely make them again but I actually felt a little bit of paleo guilt since pysillium husk is not considered paleo (at least according to Mark’s Daily Apple) but if and when I get a craving for something like a hamburger or even a toasted tomato sandwich I will certainly make this again! Thank you! This is the next best thing to having bread!

I appreciate your questions, thoughts and comments:

