Slow-Cooked Christmas Ham

Christmas_Ham.jpg

Last week I posted a recipe for Christmas meatballs.
Today I’m giving you a recipe for my other Christmas must-have: Ham!

For a Swede, it’s just not Christmas without the ham. It’s the center piece of just about every dinner table on Christmas Eve, and we eat the leftovers for breakfast, lunch and in between.
Traditionally it’s covered in breadcrumbs before it goes into the oven, but to keep it gluten-free I’ve removed that step and stick with just the mustard coating. (Oh, and I use Dijon mustard which often have clean ingredients instead of the sugar heavy mustards that are usually called for.)

I must admit though, I have cheated a bit.
The ham I’m using was already brined when I bought it so I don’t have control over what was used in the brine.
I’m ok with that though…it’s once a year and this ham is way cleaner than the majority. Plus, truth be told, I suck at planning ahead (brining a ham is a 10-15 day process, and two weeks ago Christmas was six months away in my head).

Anyhow, I cooked our ham today…and we decorated the Christmas tree.
Now I’m ready for Christmas.

Ingredients:

• 1 Boneless Ham, brined and with the rind still on. (The one in the picture above is about 5 lb (2.3 kg).)
• 2 large Onions.
• 1 large Carrot.
• 2 cups (5 dl) Broth (I used beef broth.)
• 15 Allspice berries.
• 3 Bay Leaves.
• Ground White pepper.
• Butter, Clarified butter or Ghee.
• Dijon Mustard.

How To:

Peel and roughly chop the carrot and onions.

Add butter/clarified butter or ghee to a hot frying pan, then give the onions and carrot some color before transferring to your slow-cooker.
Dust with white pepper while frying.

Add the allspice, bay leaves and broth to the slow cooker.

Quickly rinse the ham under cold water, insert a meat thermometer into the center of the ham, and place it on top of the vegetables.

Cook on low until you’ve reached a core temperature of 167F (75C).
(Took me almost 6 hours for a 5 lb (2.3 kg) ham.)

When done, remove the rind and layer of fat and set aside to cool off.

Set your oven to 440F (225C).

Brush the ham with Dijon mustard, turn on the broiler, put the Dijon coated ham in the oven for about 15 minutes (start keeping an eye on it after 10 minutes) until it has got a nice color.

Take it out of the oven, set aside and let cool off completely.

Serve cold in thin slices with mustard on the side.

One thought on “Slow-Cooked Christmas Ham

  1. Pingback: Slow-Cooked Christmas Ham | Paleo Digest

I appreciate your questions, thoughts and comments:

