Sweet Potato Daikon Gratin

Sweet Potato Daikon Gratin

Miss potato gratin? Try this dairy free, gluten free, sweet potato flavored daikon gratin!
It’s rich and creamy, slightly sweet and packed with flavors, and the use of daikon instead of potatoes even makes it fairly low carb…
Serve this flavorful side dish to lamb, chicken or pork, and you’re set for success!

It’s Easter, and I wanted to make a traditional Easter dinner.
I picked up a roast of lamb (recipe coming up), and there’s really not much that beats a creamy potato gratin as a side dish for a classic lamb roast, right?
I’ve replaced potatoes with daikon in my gratins for quite some time, but they’ve always been including loads of cream and cheese, and this time I wanted to give a completely dairy free gratin a shot.
Inspired by my friend Rach’s Sweet Potato Gratin recipe I got busy in the kitchen, and I can tell you straight away: using puree as a thickener is amazing for mimicking the creamy texture of a good gratin!
Dairy is not needed!

I stuck to my usual technique for making a gratin though, which is to pre-boil all ingredients and then just quickly gratinate the dish.
That way I can control the texture of the dish much better than doing it all in the oven.

Want to give it a shot?
Here’s the recipe:

[gmc_recipe 5941]

 

11 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Daikon Gratin

  1. Pingback: Sweet Potato Daikon Gratin | Paleo Digest

  2. Pingback: Paleo AIP Recipe Roundtable #25 | Phoenix Helix

  3. Pingback: Classic Lamb Roast | Strictly Paleo...ish!

  4. Thanks i am going to try this, I’m new to paleo and have a resistant husband who loves mash potato more than life itself! As soon as i look up what a daikon is I’ll give it a bash. … I’m thinking its a root vegetable ….

    • Thanks Kate, I guessing you’ll enjoy this dish :)
      And I’m sure you’ll recognize the daikon as soon as you google it. I think it’s also called “white radish”, and it looks like a gigantic white carrot. Eaten raw it has a very mild radish flavor (and texture), but in a dish like this it works great as a potato substitute. It’s really low carb too.
      //Peter

I appreciate your questions, thoughts and comments:

