Creamy Zucchini Salad With Green Apples And Almonds

Creamy_Zucchini_Salad.jpg

This is probably going to be one of the shortest recipes I’ll ever post…
Nevertheless, it results in a delicious side dish, -perfect for the season, and with an interesting mix of textures!

What else is there to say about it?
It is quickly prepared.
It’s fresh and light, and at the same time rich and thick…
It’s provides a crunchiness, a crispiness, and a softness.
Pack it in you picnic basket, or place a big bowl of it right in the center of the dining table the next time you’re having a BBQ-get-together.
Either way, it can’t go wrong.
Here’s how to make it:

Ingredients:
(Serves 6)

• 4 cups (10dl) diced Zucchini.
• 2 cups (5dl) diced Green Apples, eg. Granny Smith.
• 2 cups (5dl) Mayonnaise, unflavored.
• 1 cup (2.5dl) Almonds.
• 1/4 cup (1/2dl) chopped fresh Parsley.
• 1/2 tbsp crushed Black Pepper.

How To:

Mix zucchini, apple, almonds and black pepper in a large bowl.

Mix the mayonnaise and parsley in another.

Add the parsley-mayo to the large bowl, and blend everything together with a spoon.

Yup, that’s it.

Served_Creamy_Zucchini_Salad.jpg
I served this to grilled beef, which was great. Though, I think it would go even better to e.g. pork chops or chicken breasts.
(Or why not a whole roasted chicken?…)

What will you have it to?, …drop a comment below and let me know! :)

20 thoughts on “Creamy Zucchini Salad With Green Apples And Almonds

  1. Pingback: Creamy Zucchini Salad With Green Apples And Almonds | Paleo Digest

  2. I love this! Funnily enough I had a conversation wtih the hubby last night on how I was craving creamy potato salad – but as I have now been living LCHF for the last 3 month potato salad is out – but this looks like an amazing alternative :)

    • Haha, coming from the country where creamy potato salad is mandatory when having a BBQ, I sure know what it is you are craving :)
      (And if I don’t recall wrong, you’re half-Swede(?), so I’m pretty sure we’re talking about the same thing…) ;)
      Let me tell you, this is a GREAT replacement for it!
      (Maybe even better, as it doesn’t leave you with that feeling of having a pound of concrete in your belly that I think classic potato salad does…)

      If you want to make it even more LCHF, use half the amount of apple and almonds (and let the few pieces become pleasant surprises when eating it), it’ll still be a kick-ass salad that I’m quite confident will ease your cravings!

      Hope you’ll enjoy it!

  3. Pingback: Fourth of July Recap | Paleo in PDX

    • Hi Carol!

      No, I like the color it adds to the dish, so I don’t peel them.
      (However, it’ll of course work just as well to peel them first if you prefer that.)

      Hope you’ll like it if you try it! :)

      // Peter

    • Hi Maria!

      Whether a mayo is store bought or not does not define if it is Paleo compliant or not, it is what is in it that does.
      However, I really doubt you’ll find store bought mayo that only includes compliant ingredients as they usually are based on cheap vegetable oils such as sunflower seed oil, corn oil etc + has a bunch of preservatives and other funny stuff added.

      Ie. the ingredients determines wether something is Paleo or not, not the product.
      The key is to equip yourself with knowledge about what is compliant and what is not (and preferably why that is), and then always carefully read all labels so that you can make conscious decisions based on your knowledge.

      And for this recipe, yes, I am using home made mayo.
      Just click the word “mayonnaise” in the ingredient list and you’ll come to the recipe for it.
      (By “unflavored” I mean to exclude the truffle oil.)

      Hope this answers your questions and concerns(?).
      If not, just let me know! :)

      Have a great day, and hope you’ll enjoy the salad! :)
      //Peter

  4. Pingback: Paleo Recipe of the Day-Creamy Zucchini Salad with Green Apples and Almonds | Oroville CrossFit

    • Aargh…it got lost while transferring all recipes to the new format :(
      1 cup (2.5dl) almonds it is.

      Thanks for letting me know, I’ll update the recipe later tonight.

      //P

    • Whole almonds to get that crunchy texture and contrast :)

      Thanks, hope you’ll enjoy it (I love it, and it keeps really well in the fridge too)!

      //Peter

  5. Pingback: 37 Super Fresh Paleo Salad Recipes

  6. Pingback: 137 Paleo No Cook Dinner Recipes

I appreciate your questions, thoughts and comments: