A Different Kind Of Breakfast

This recipe is not mine, I saw it in a Swedish magazine a few weeks ago and thought I should give it a try.
The only deviation I’ve done from the original recipe is that I roasted (in a dry frying pan until they get some nice light brown color) the coconut flakes first to enhance the flavor. However, this also makes the cake much darker so if you prefer a little less coconut flavor and a much less “dirty” looking cake…don’t roast the coconut.

20120614-112102.jpg

“Coconut Breakfast Cake”

Ingredients:
• About 2/3 – 3/4 cup unsweetened Coconut flakes, roasted.
• 2 Eggs.
• 2 oz butter, melted.
• 1/2 tsp Vanilla Powder (i.e. 100% ground vanilla beans, not the sugar based vanilla flavored products!)
• Some fresh berries for decoration and taste.

Instructions:
Mix the butter and coconut flakes and let stand for a few minutes.
Stir in the eggs and vanilla powder, and put the mixture in a small bowl.
(Note: It did rise a bit, so it’s good if the bowl is slightly larger than being full to the rim.)
Place the bowl in the microwave oven and run on full effect for about 90 seconds.
Flip the cake onto a plate and serve with fresh berries.
Done, fast and simple!

I have to be honest and say that I personally wasn’t too impressed with it, it was a bit…too much.
Don’t get me wrong, it didn’t taste bad and it kept me full for a very long time…I guess I’m just more of an eggs-and-bacon kind of guy ;)
Also I normally don’t like cooking stuff in the microwave, just don’t feels like cooking…
But I decided to put it up on the blog anyway, since we all have different preferences.
If you try it out I’d be happy to hear what you think of it!

Paleo?: Yes.
LCHF?: Yes.

Have a nice day!

6 thoughts on “A Different Kind Of Breakfast

  1. My husband is a huge coconut fan, so I’ll definitely be trying this one! You mentioned not being too impressed with it, – was it TOO coco-nutty? Please let me know. If I wind up making it beforehand, I’ll let you know how it came out. Thanks for sharing…
    – Shannon, Crumb Cake Creations, LLC

    • Hi Shannon!

      Naaaah, no such thing as too coconutty in my book :)
      Though, for a breakfast meal I thought it was too…don’t really know how to phrase it…much/chewy/dense?
      The first half was great…but after that i didn’t find it too exciting any more (no problems to finnish it though). I would have liked it a bit more moist, and will definitely keep experimenting with it (will update the post on the results).
      Don’t get me wrong, basically it’s a great meal…great ingredients that makes a great start of the day, and keeps you full for a long time. I think it all comes down to what kind of food you prefer for breakfast…
      Also, I don’t know how paleo or low-carb you guys are? If you don’t mind it, I’m sure a bit of honey in it would be awesome taste wise (but for me that would probably be more of a dessert than a break fast…don’t like to get an insulin spike first thing in the morning…nevertheless, honey is still a good choice of sweetener if you choose to sweeten).
      Hope this answer your questions, doubts and fears?
      Personally, I think you should give it a shot…maybe not on his birthday, but any given Saturday. It’s something different, it’s good for you, not expensive, fast and if it turns out to be a total dislike it’s just one breakfast “ruined” ;)
      I’m excited to hear about what you thought of it, so please do comment if you decide to try it out! :)
      (also, any ideas on improvements are welcome and appreciated!)

      Thanks for commenting Shannon, and have a nice day!

  2. Pingback: Paleo Cake Recipes – 82 Amazing Recipes For Every Occasion – Ancestral Chef

  3. Pingback: Paleo Cake Recipes - 82 Amazing Recipes For Every Occasion - Paleo Living Magazine

  4. Pingback: 10 Great Paleo Coffee Cake Recipes

  5. Pingback: Paleo Cake Recipes - 82 Amazing Recipes For Every Occasion

I appreciate your questions, thoughts and comments: